Club History

The early Italian immigrants who pioneered the rainforests of these Pacific shores and settled in their new found home, joined forces in 1904 and formed the first Italian-Canadian Society in Vancouver and named it “Figli d’Italia” (Sons of Italy).

They resolved to commemorate the discovery of America and its discoverer, the great Italian navigator and explorer, Christopher Columbus. Each year these Figli d’Italia celebrated Columbus Day by marching proudly in their parade, displaying their colours and their Columbus Day Banquet marked the highlight in the social calendar of the Italian-Canadian community of Vancouver.

In 1966, the late Justice Angelo E. Branca was instrumental in amalgamating four of the oldest Italian–Canadian Societies in the City of Vancouver. These societies were Societa’ di Mutuo Soccorso Figli d’Italia Inc. (1904). Societa’Veneta di Mutuo Soccorso (1911), the Vancouver Italian-Canadian Mutual Aid Society (1935), and Meridionale (founded in the early 1960’s) and their respective ladies auxiliaries; Lega femminile Italiana. As a result of this the Confratellanza Italo-Canadese was formed.

The Confratellanza Italo-Canadese and its predecessors have always had a social conscience. Since our amalgamation in 1966, we have donated approximately $410,000.00 to various charities, hospitals, scholarships, medical research, the handicapped and similar organizations. Members have also been actively involved in all areas of amateur youth sports and community functions.

The Confratellanza Italo-Canadese is committed to advancing the interest of the Italian Canadian community and ensuring that, as a group, Italian-Canadians are contributing to the enrichment of their community and their multicultural nation.

1966 – 1977 Hon. Justice Angelo E. Branca Q.C.,LL.D.
 1978 – 1979Giuseppe Di Salvatore
 1980P. Lino Natola
 1981 – 1982Giuseppe Di Salvatore
 1983 – 1985 Rudy Bonora
 1986 – 1987Giuseppe Di Salvatore
 1988 – 1989Nedo A. Gizzi
 1990Mario Caravetta
 1991 – 1993R. Angelo Holmes
 1994Alessandro (Alex) Giuliano
 1995 – 1996Rocco Salituro
 1997 – 1998Gerardo (Gino) Ramogida
 1999 – 2000Lino Bragagnolo
 2001 – 2002Ugo M. Lepore
 2003 – 2005 Giovanni (John) Barbieri
 2006 – 2010 Roberto Casanova
 2011 – Present Angelo Holmes